Skip to content

Bobby McFerrin August 20th at SummerStage!!

August 19, 2013

Style: "Tina1"Bobby McFerrin is best known as the artist who wrote and sang the legendary and world famous tune “Don’t Worry, Be Happy”. He is still that guy and so much more!

This Tuesday August 20th we are going to celebrate his latest release Spirityouall at Central Park SummerStage.

Spirityouall pays homage to old spirituals as well as Americana, and pays tribute to his late father, Robert McFerrin Sr, who handled the singing duties for actor Sidney Poiter, on the film version of Porgy and Bess. According to McFerrin, his father’s spirit is a huge part of this celebration and we are anxious to see this performance and hear the new music!

Mr. McFerrin himself says, “I try to sing the way I sing in my kitchen, because I just can’t help myself. I want to get people to just sing the way they do when they’re just hanging out waiting for the bus, in their regular “blue-jeans” voice. I want to bring audiences into the incredible feeling of joy and freedom I get when I sing. “Ask him where he went to school, and he just might tell you that he is a graduate of MSU: Making Stuff Up. “Music for me is like a spiritual journey down into the depths of my soul,” says McFerrin. “And I like to think we’re all on a journey into our souls. What’s down there? That’s why I do what I do.”

Be sure to come and join us. Visit SummerStage for more information!

Review of Bobby McFerrin’s SpiritYouAll at Central Park’s SummerStage 8.20.2013:

We went to see Bobby McFerrin in Central Park last night and it was more rollicking than a church revival! The spirit indeed filled the room and people of all religious and non religious backgrounds REJOICED!

Mr. McFerrin came out onstage supported by a full band including his vocalist daughter Madison and the great Gil Goldstein on accordion and keyboards. He started out with some old spirituals and launched into He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands, while traipsing through the audience, and allowing different patrons to sing along and SOLO. Some of their voices soared. He even made a song out of his microphone failing! What a treat!

Mr. McFerrin plays classical piano and jazzes it up like no one else. The most spellbinding piece of the evening was his solo rendition of The Beatles tune, Blackbird. When I say solo…I MEAN solo. Mr. McFerrin completed the tune with virtually no accompaniment other than bird calls from the audience, at his urging. It was splendiferous to say the least!

We laughed, we cried, we danced and sang along and we were touched. Bobby McFerrin is a must see and Central Park was the perfect setting! We give the show 5 stars!

Cheers!
JazzNPop

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

